Wednesday, September 24, 2014

GSMA Celebrates 20 Years of Global Mobile Awards

2015 Awards, Spanning Eight Categories and 40 Awards, Are Now Open for Entry

LONDON - Wednesday, September 24th 2014 [ME NewsWire]

Mobile Asia Expo 2014

(BUSINESS WIRE)-- The GSMA today announced that the Global Mobile Awards 2015 are now open for entry. The 2015 awards, which mark 20 years of honouring excellence, achievement and innovation across the mobile industry, will be open for entry until Friday, 5th December 2014. The winners will be announced at a ceremony at the GSMA Mobile World Congress in Barcelona on Tuesday, 3rd March 2015.

“It’s been twenty years since the very first Global Mobile Awards took place in Cannes in 1996. The awards have evolved and expanded in parallel with the astonishing growth of our industry and they reinforce the major role that mobile plays in our everyday lives,” said Michael O’Hara, Chief Marketing Officer, GSMA. “The GSMA is pleased to once again recognise the world’s leading mobile devices, services, apps and technologies and we look forward to celebrating 20 years of innovation in mobile in March.”

The 2015 Global Mobile Awards will present more than 40 awards over eight categories:

    The Connected Life Awards
    Best Mobile Services
    Social & Economic Development
    Apps of the Year
    Best Mobile Handsets & Devices
    Best Mobile Technology
    Government Mobile Excellence Awards
    Outstanding Achievement Award

The Global Mobile Awards feature twelve new awards that showcase emerging trends in the mobile ecosystem. One of these trends is the tremendous innovation within wearable technologies; as such, the ‘Best Mobile Handset and Devices’ category will include an award for ‘Best Wearable Mobile Technology’. The positive impact of increasingly affordable smartphones across the world will also be reflected in this year’s awards through the reduction of the threshold in the ‘Best Low Cost Smartphone’ award to sub-$100.

The 2015 awards will also highlight the importance of Connected Living with a category dedicated to the convergence of mobile and key vertical sectors such as automotive, education, health, mobile money and mobile-enabled consumer electronic devices. The ‘Connected Life’ category includes new awards such as the ‘Best Use of Mobile for Retail, Brands & Commerce’, which will showcase the pivotal role of mobile services in driving new levels of brand engagement and interaction; the ‘Mobile Innovation for the Internet of Things’ award; and the ‘Mobile Connect Award for Best Authentication & Identity Solution’, which highlights the importance of personal data security.

Disability affects around 15 per cent of the world’s population, or approximately one billion people, and this year’s ‘Social and Economic Development’ category will include two new awards that showcase innovative mobile solutions that are helping to drive the accessibility and ease of use for the physically or mentally disabled and senior mobile users: one for applications, software and services and a second award for devices.

New awards have also been introduced in the ‘Apps of the Year’ category, with specific awards for music, games, video, TV and photography, as well as mobile media and publishing apps, among others. The GSMA has also enhanced the ‘Best Mobile Technology’ category with the introduction of a ‘Best Technology Enabler’ award that will showcase emerging technologies that are improving mobile operators’ abilities to bring services and products to the market more rapidly.

In addition, the Government Mobile Excellence Awards will recognise world-class leadership with two awards to be presented on Monday, 2nd March 2015 at the GSMA’s Ministerial Programme at Mobile World Congress. They include the ‘Government Leadership Award’ and the ‘Spectrum for Mobile Broadband Award’.

Information for Entering the Global Mobile Awards

The Global Mobile Awards 2015 are open to companies across the entire mobile ecosystem and may be entered online; a full list of categories, deadlines and award criteria can be found at This year, the GSMA has introduced entry fee discounts for multiple entry input. Selected awards will be open to nominations from judges or by an independent panel of experts and will not be open for online entry. The submission of video to support entries is strongly encouraged by the awards judges. Entries for the Global Mobile Awards close on Friday, 5th December 2014 and the GSMA will announce the shortlist of nominations for each category by early February 2015.

The awards will be judged by independent experts, analysts, journalists, academics, and in some cases, mobile operator representatives. The winner of the ‘Outstanding Overall Mobile Technology – The CTOs’ Choice’ award will be selected by a panel of industry-leading CTOs from the worldwide operator community.

For further information on the Global Mobile Awards 2015 or if you would like to become a sponsor, please contact the GSMA at The Mobile World Congress 2015 will be held 2-5 March at Fira Gran Via in Barcelona. For more information, please visit

- ENDS –

About the GSMA

The GSMA represents the interests of mobile operators worldwide. Spanning more than 220 countries, the GSMA unites nearly 800 of the world’s mobile operators with 250 companies in the broader mobile ecosystem, including handset and device makers, software companies, equipment providers and Internet companies, as well as organisations in industry sectors such as financial services, healthcare, media, transport and utilities. The GSMA also produces industry-leading events such as Mobile World Congress and Mobile Asia Expo.

For more information, please visit the GSMA corporate website at Follow the GSMA on Twitter: @GSMA.


For the GSMA

Elli Karagiorgas

+44 (0)207 067 0496


Bureau de presse de la GSMA


No comments:

Post a Comment