Monday, September 29, 2014

CORRECTION & REPLACEMENT // Zayed Future Energy Prize Announce 2015 Finalists

Selection Committee shortlist 31 finalists in the lead for the 2015 award

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates - Monday, September 29th 2014 [ME NewsWire]

31 finalists have been shortlisted for the 2015 edition of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, the world’s foremost award for innovation in renewable energy and sustainability.

The Prize’s Selection Committee met in Abu Dhabi on 16-17 September to discuss and evaluate 59 entries that had earlier been shortlisted by the Review Committee in five categories: Large Corporation, Small and Medium Enterprise (SME), Non-Profit Organisation (NPO), Lifetime Achievement and Global High Schools.

His Excellency Dr Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber, Director-General of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, said: “The Zayed Future Energy Prize is yet another reflection of our wise leadership’s limitless drive towards supporting sustainable growth, not just in the UAE but the world over. The Prize embodies the vision of our leadership for a more sustainable future, where renewable energy plays a significant role in the advancement of energy security, economic and social development, and the alleviation of poverty.”

“The Selection Committee has identified the breakthrough ideas, technologies and academic proposals, that will positively influence the world, delivering access to energy and water to millions, championing sustainability and the deployment of renewable energy, and creating jobs and educational opportunities within the clean energy space.” added Dr Al Jaber.

The finalists for the 2015 Large Corporation category demonstrate leadership in energy efficient products, large scale utilities, energy storage and solar generation, reflecting a broader trend of increasing global demand for renewable energy. Developments in both commercial and consumer appetites for sustainable products have influenced some large corporations to adopt renewable energy and sustainability practices into their business models as a means of revenue generation and enhanced energy efficiency.

The Selection Committee also recognised SMEs and NPOs for their work to commercialise off-grid solar in poor households in East Africa and Asia. As the growth of off-grid solar sees rapid adoption around the world in both developing and developed markets, innovation sees practical application in an effort to deploy resources; from using simple plastic bottles made from basic household materials in rooftops to radically improve lighting conditions, to supplying a total of 230,000 solar home systems and 1.2m solar lanterns in communities without grid access.

Finalists for the 2015 Zayed Future Energy Prize are, Enel Green Power, First Solar, IKEA and Panasonic in the Large Corporation category; Electriciens sans Frontières, Liter of Light, Practical Action, SolarAid, and World Resources Institute for the Non-Profit Organisations category; and Econation, M-Kopa, and SELCO, have been identified as finalists in the Small and Medium Enterprise category.

Finalists for the 2015 Global High Schools category across the five geographical regions include, Abaarso School of Science and Technology, Alliance Girls High School, and Waterford Kamhlaba (Africa); DGEyC E.S.E.T. Nº 4 El Palomar, Colegio Roosevelt, Munro Academy (Americas); Amra Bint Abdul Rahman Secondary School for Girls, Royal College, Rishi Valley Education Centre and Addu High School (Asia), and Melbourne Girls School, Lumé Rural Training Center, and Cashmere High School (Oceania); with a single school identified as a potential finalist for the European region.

The Selection Committee also identified 5 individuals as finalists for the Lifetime Achievement category.

Marie-José Nadeau, Chair of the World Energy Council and Vice-Chair of the Zayed Future Energy Prize Selection Committee, said: “With nearly 1.2 billion people in the world living without energy access, the Prize has never been more crucial in the deployment of socially responsible solutions to one of the world’s most important challenges:  How to balance the Energy Trilemma and simultaneously deliver a secure, affordable, and environmentally sustainable energy system. The Zayed Future Energy Prize is an impressive initiative, not only in terms of global outreach and visibility for the UAE, but in its strategic and philanthropic approach to affecting change in a growing sector of the energy market. The Selection Committee has recommended very strong finalists for the 2015 award. The Jury has a difficult task ahead of them to make the final decision in each category. We believe whoever they choose, whether organisation, individual or school, will be a very sound choice as a winner of this valuable Prize.”

In the final phase of evaluation, the contenders are set to be presented to the Prize Jury on 20 October. Winners of the seventh edition will be announced at the Zayed Future Energy Prize awards ceremony scheduled for 19 January, 2015, as part of the annual Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week.

The Selection Committee comprises international energy experts in academia, research and policy advocacy, technology, energy access and security in renewables and sustainability. Chaired by Dr. Behjat Al Yousuf, Dean of Students, Masdar Institute (MI), Professor of Practice Engineering Systems Management, the Selection Committee includes Marie-Jose Nadaeu, Vice-Chair of the Zayed Future Energy Prize Selection Committee and Chair of the World Energy Council, Executive Vice President Corporate Affairs and Secretary General Hydro Quebec; Roger Ballentine, President, Green Strategies; Dr. Olaf Goebel, Professor of Energy Engineering and Renewable Energies, University of Applied Science in Hamm and Lippstadt; Dr. Steve Griffiths, Executive Director of Institute Initiatives Professor of Practice, MI; Anup Jacobs, Director of Masdar Capital; Richenda Van Leeuwen, Executive Director, Energy and Climate, Energy Access Initiative, United Nations Foundation; Dalya Al Muthanna, President and CEO, General Electric Gulf Region; Gunter Pauli, Author of ‘The Blue Economy’ and Founder of Zero Emissions Research Initiative; Jonathon Porrit, Co-founder, Forum for the Future; Maha Salem Jabour, Advisor to Director General, Abu Dhabi Education Council; David Sandalow, Inaugural Fellow, Centre on Global Energy Policy, Columbia University; Gauri Singh, Director, Country Sustainability and Partnerships, International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)  Professor Ad Van Wijk, Sustainable Energy Entrepreneur and Professor of Future Energy Systems at the Delft University of Technology and Yukari Yamashita, Board Member, Director Energy Data and Modeling Center, Institute of Energy Economics, Japan (IEEJ).

For more information on the prize, please visit

Stay connected at and


Alessandra Bell

Communications Consultant, +971 555 092736

No comments:

Post a Comment